Faculty Member Detail

Prof.(Dr.) M. Prasada Rao
Visiting Professor


Prof. M. Prasada Rao, M.A., (Economics), B.L., P.G.D.A.S., and Ph.D. from the
University of SUSSEX, UK is a Professor (retd.) in the Department of Economics,
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam. He completed his Ph.D. under the supervision of
outstanding scholars Professor Michael Lipton, Dr.Diana Hunt and Late Pramit
Caudhuri, University of Sussex as the prestigious ‘Commonwealth Academic Staff
Scholar’in the world. He is a Development Economist with 36 and half years of
experience in teaching, research and administration. He has published 15 books and 50
research papers in National and International Journals. His research interests are in the
area of rural development, farm and non-farm activities related studies and employment
generation in the non-farm sector,poverty eradication in rural areas and the related policy
matters. He teaches Micro Economic Analysis, Macro Economic Analysis,
Development Economics, International Economics, Quantitative Techniques, Computer
Applications, Law and Economics. He has international experience as Post-Graduate
Senate Representative, University of Sussex, U.K. (1992-93). He was given
‘Dr.Sarvepalli Radha Krishnan Award’ for BestAcademician for the year 2007. He
was awarded ‘Brightman award’ by Jattu Bhavana Samakhya Samajika Ashram,
Parvathipuram in its anniversary on 01-05-2003 and also bagged ‘Man of the Decade
Award-2019’ by Alliance Clubs International, ‘Best Researcher Award’ by Andhra
University in 2006 and also is the recipient of ‘State Best Teacher Award-2014’ by the
Government of Andhra Pradesh.
He was the Head, Department of Economics & Honorary Director, UGCCentre
for SAARC Studies, Andhra University. He successfully served as RECTOR,Andhra
University for 1 year (2018 to 2019). Before that he also served as Honorary Director,
Population Research Centre (PRC), (established by the Ministry of Health and Family
Welfare, Government of India), Andhra University for 7 years (2005-2012). As Head of
PRC, he conducted a number of field based studies in population, health and family
welfare. He served as Nodal Officer to the Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh
from 1-07-2019 to 23-11-2019. He also served as Honorary Director, A.P. Study
Circle, Visakhapatnam. 13 candidates under his able guidance have been awarded Ph.D.
Degrees by Andhra University and 1 PDF scholar has been awarded the PDF degree. He
has extended his research activities as Ph.D. / D.Litt. thesis adjudicator for different
State & Central Universities in India. He was a Member of Academic Senate, Andhra
University. He was also a member of both the Finance Committee & Executive
Council of Madras Institute of Development Studies (MIDS). He was the editor of
the Journal ‘South AsianAffairs’. He has also acted as Chairman, PG Board of Studies
in Economics, Andhra University. He successfully served as a member of both the
Executive Council and Finance Committee of Andhra University, from 04-02-2016
to 23-11-2019. He received Lifetime Achievement Award in 2021 by International
Education forum, 16 Honeymyrytle Avenue Denham Court, New South Wales 2565,
Australia. Currently, he is the visiting professor to the Damodaram Sanjivayya National
Law University, Sabbavaram, Visakhapatnam.



This Will Make You Easy For Growth, Use Accessibility Tool