With the growing importance of quality legal education, various national law schools have acquired a lot of importance. To meet the requirements of students in this state, the government of Andhra Pradesh decided to establish a new law university, and as per the decision of the council of ministers meeting held on 30th June 2008, the Governor of Andhra Pradesh promulgated the Andhra Pradesh University of Law ordinance, 2008 on 8th July 2008. Subsequently, the cabinet on August 04th, 2008, approved the Andhra Pradesh University of Law bill, 2008, replacing the ordinance. This bill was passed by the state legislature on 28th August 2008 and became an act after the same was assented to by the governor on 23rd September 2008. Thus, the A.P. University of Law came into existence with Visakhapatnam as the main campus and two branches at Kadapa and Nizamabad. Further, the Andhra Pradesh University of Law’s name was changed to “Damodaran Sanjivayya National Law University” by the Andhra Pradesh University of Law (Amendment) Act, 2012 (Act No. 15 of 2012), which was published in the Andhra Pradesh Gazette Extraordinary on 14th May 2012. The government of Andhra Pradesh has notified vide G.O.MS. No. 63 dated 22-5-2012 that the 22nd day of May 2012 is the date on which the provisions of the said act shall come into force.